How to Become a Notary Public in Tennessee

Tennessee Notary requirements:

  • Minimum Age: 18 years old

  • Residency: Resident or Employed

  • Bond Required: $1,000 for the 4-year commission term

  • Application Fee: Depends on county

  • Must be able to read and write English Must not have been removed from office as a notary for official misconduct. Must not have had a commission revoked or suspended by this or any other state. Must not be convicted of offering or fiving a bribe. Larceny or any other offense declared infamous by law. Must not have any unpaid judgements due to the United States, the State of Tennessee, or any Tennessee county. Must not be a member of Congress or the United States Military. Or a holder of office for state and federal government.

A group of people sitting around each other.
Discussing insurance options

Step by Step instructions on how to become a Tennessee Notary

1. Purchase a $10,000 Notary Bond and any supplies you will need such as a stamp/embosser, journal.
2. Obtain Application from county clerk’s office.
3. Submit the Application & bond to the county clerk’s office.
4. Once you receive your notary commission certificate, please forward a copy to us ( so we can ship your supplies.

Begin Your Application

Now is the time! Our simple process makes becoming a notary or renewing an easy to understand and quick to complete the application process. We have the information you need to get started today.